artist:Jesika von Rabbit
featured track:
"Do You Really Want To Hurt Me?"


Dubbed “California’s ultimate postmodern, intergalactic pop provocateur” by the LA Weekly, voted Best Musician of the Coachella Valley 2016/17 and 2015/16 by The Coachella Valley Independent, and Best Front Woman of Coachella Valley at the 2015 Coachella Valley Weekly Music Awards, Jesika von Rabbit, leader of Joshua Tree’s Gram Rabbit, has embarked on a solo career, resulting in the release of her first solo album, three videos, and a spot as opener for The Eagles of Death Metal on the US leg of their sold-out 2015 Zipper Down tour. The packed rooms all responded enthusiastically to von Rabbit’s set which included songs from her Journey Mitchell album.

Coachella Valley Weekly wrote a glowing review of von Rabbit’s appearance opening for a sold-out Wanda Jackson show in January of 2016:

The crowd was no thinner for her show than it was for Jackson’s, and the audience reveled in it. Von Rabbit could have chosen any route in music. She is drop dead gorgeous and has an absolutely incredible voice. But Von Rabbit is more than a pretty chick singer. She is an innovative creator and expressionist as well as one hell of an entertainer. Her sequenced beats, samples, and mixes tested the depth of Pappy’s sound system (which passed with flying colors by the way) and delivered her music into the back of our teeth. Her show is brilliantly non-sensical; a sonic and visual spectacle that is unlike any other and you cannot take your eyes away. She is an artist that you just have to keep coming back to see, because you evolve every time you do. Jesika Von Rabbit and her entourage of stage characters were the perfect choice to open for a legend, as she embodies the rebel spirit that helped Wanda Jackson break limitations set on women back in her day.

von Rabbit is currently working on a new album and video. She recently performed at the two-day Starry Nites Festival outside of Santa Barbara and her latest single "Going Down" has received steady airplay on KCRW.