artist: Estelle Bajou
featured track:
"Heavy Sleep Broken"

Estelle Bajou is a French-American composer, multi-instrumentalist, and singer-songwriter raised in the mountains of North Carolina, based in Brooklyn, NY. She started playing violin at age four and has since played and sung with numerous bands, from parlor rock to country to Slavic punk to free jazz to acoustic folk. In 2012, she began making music for Film (Occupy Texas, Starring Austin Pendleton), TV (Ken Burns' Prohibition), and scoring Feature Films (Fireworkers, Beneath Disheveled Stars) and Off-Broadway Theater productions. In 2015 she put out her first record, Songs With Words. In 2016, she was a Drama Desk-nominee for Outstanding Music in a Play alongside such notable composers as Pulitzer and Tony-winner Tom Kitt, and Oscar-nominee Philip Glass. ---